So many GOOD curriculums, how do I make the final decisions?

Although I am pretty sure we will be using Rod and Staff curriculum, I REALLY like the Math U See program, and the  A Reason for Handwriting. I do not want to buy more than is necessary, but want to get the best for my kids. I may not know what that is until I have been teaching for a little while.  I suppose, since the cost of the Rod and Staff  “complete” grade is not too bad, and the individual Math and handwriting are not too bad, I may order both and see how they compare. Really want/need the package with lesson plans, but may interchange some subjects. We will definitely be adding the Memoria press Latin as I think, the earlier they start the easier it is to learn a second language. Maybe I have gone from terrified to overly gung-ho. I bought in all the way, and want to do the best I possibly can.

 Still plowing through a lot of info in my quest for the curriculum(s) that will work best for us.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 15:33:03

    If I was you, I would just buy Rod and Staff, keep it simple. Then, if there are subjects that you don’t like, you can switch it up later. You have enough distractions running around–give yourself a chance to find your groove first, then you can adjust the little things to make it the best for you.

    Reply

  2. joyinsimplicity
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 17:05:59

    Oh the looking is TOUGH!! Miserable and overwhelming, but truly the gift is that you can decide to change later on. It took me one year of a curriculum we hated, and then I decided to just use stuff from the School Box and online for a year mostly to research and not feel pressured to finally narrow down what I love. You are welcome to come over and look through my stuff any time! I have Rod and Staff grammar…I think it’s grade 3. I can get it to Chaney if you want to look at it in hand. I don’t have any of their other stuff though…sorry! We’re a hodge podge of stuff now. But truly don’t stress out too much over it all. There are tons of great stuff out there and it will all just overwhelm you completely!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

