The fabric I’m made of

Ever heard folks say “that’s just the fabric I’m made of” ? I have heard it many times and just never gave it a thought really. As many of you are aware, I love to sew. Okay, well, honestly, I love fabric, all sorts of fabrics, and so I sew in order to use the  fabrics that I love. And in case you aren’t aware, there are A LOT of types of fabrics. Fabrics for clothes, fabrics for upholstery, fancy fabric, plain fabric, frilly and dainty fabric, rough and tough fabric, and the list goes on. I recently won a GC to an online Fabric store (Skye Reve Fabrics) and can’t decide what to get, even though I have browsed her inventory daily for 2 weeks.So I suppose, as I was looking through the HUNDREDS of choices , my mind began to wander as it often does, and I thought about how we are  all so unique and so individual, and each has exactly what they need for the life God has planned for them. And then it occurred to me, not one thing about my life surprises Him.He chose the fabric that is me, with a specific purpose and plan. He saw the whole picture before I had a name, and wove me into the exact fabric needed for this life. You know, some of us are made of fabric that easily ravels, some are made of the roughest ,scratchiest material , and yet others of the softest silkiest you’ve ever felt. God knew that each fabric would have strengths, and each would have weaknesses, and as each was put to use, He knew what that would mean for each life. Some would need a whole lot of reinforcing, and yet others, stronger than the rest, would need to be “stone washed” to beat in some softness, otherwise, one would fall apart and the other would be too stiff to use.  Just like we don’t ask a garment “so what kind of fabric do you want to be made of?”. neither were we asked our choice. I would have probably chosen something a bit sturdier and a little less wrinkle prone  myself, but alas, He knows best, and I am so glad He made me who I am. Psalm 139 has always been a favorite for me. It is reassuring to be reminded that He knows me, I mean REALLY knows me, and yes, He still chose me, and loves me and lovingly patches my weak spots as they appear.

Psalm 139

For the director of music. Of David. A psalm.

 1 You have searched me, LORD,
   and you know me.
2 You know when I sit and when I rise;
   you perceive my thoughts from afar.
3 You discern my going out and my lying down;
   you are familiar with all my ways.
4 Before a word is on my tongue
   you, LORD, know it completely.
5 You hem me in behind and before,
   and you lay your hand upon me.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
   too lofty for me to attain.

 7 Where can I go from your Spirit?
   Where can I flee from your presence?
8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
   if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
9 If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
   if I settle on the far side of the sea,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
   your right hand will hold me fast.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
   and the light become night around me,”
12 even the darkness will not be dark to you;
   the night will shine like the day,
   for darkness is as light to you.

 13 For you created my inmost being;
   you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
   your works are wonderful,
   I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
   when I was made in the secret place,
   when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
   all the days ordained for me were written in your book
   before one of them came to be.
17 How precious to me are your thoughts,[a] God!
   How vast is the sum of them!
18 Were I to count them,
   they would outnumber the grains of sand—
   when I awake, I am still with you.

 19 If only you, God, would slay the wicked!
   Away from me, you who are bloodthirsty!
20 They speak of you with evil intent;
   your adversaries misuse your name.
21 Do I not hate those who hate you, LORD,
   and abhor those who are in rebellion against you?
22 I have nothing but hatred for them;
   I count them my enemies.
23 Search me, God, and know my heart;
   test me and know my anxious thoughts.
24 See if there is any offensive way in me,
   and lead me in the way everlasting.

So what is the fabric you’re made of?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donna
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 12:06:46

    Thank you for this………..i needed and a few someone else’s I know and will pass on to need it too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

